The Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (APLN) has over one hundred members from eighteen countries across Asia and the Pacific, consisting of former political, diplomatic and military leaders, senior government officials, and scholars and opinion leaders. APLN aims to inform and energize public opinion, especially high-level policymakers, to take seriously the very real threats posed by nuclear weapons, and to do everything possible to achieve a world in which they are contained, diminished and eventually eliminated.


  • Allan GYNGELL

    Allan GYNGELL

    Allan Gyngell is National President of the Australian Institute of International Affairs and an Honorary Professor at the ANU.

  • Cathy MOLONEY

    Cathy MOLONEY

    Dr Cathy Moloney is the Head of the Centre for Defence Research, Australian Defence College.

  • Gareth EVANS

    Gareth EVANS

    Gareth Evans is a Distinguished Honorary Professor and former Chancellor of the Australian National University, Co-Chair of the International Advisory Board of the Global Centre for the Responsibility to Protect, former Australian Foreign Minister, and former President and CEO of the International Crisis Group.

  • Gary QUINLAN

    Gary QUINLAN

    Gary Quinlan AO was Australia’s Ambassador to Indonesia from 2018 to 2021. Prior to that he was Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Australia's Senior Official to ASEAN and to the East Asia Summit (2015-2018).

  • Ian BIGGS

    Ian BIGGS

    Australian Ambassador for Arms Control and Counter-Proliferation

  • John CARLSON

    John CARLSON

    John Carlson is a former Director General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office and founding Chair of the Asia-Pacific Safeguards Network.



    John McCarthy is a former Australian career diplomat



    John Tilemann is APLN Senior Associate Fellow. He served as Chief of Staff to two Directors General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, Dr. Hans Blix and Dr. Mohamed ElBaradei. As a career diplomat he has also served in Australian Embassies in Asia, Europe and the Middle East.

  • Julia GILLARD

    Julia GILLARD

    Julia Gillard was the 27th Prime Minister of Australia. She currently serves as the Chair of Beyond Blue, one of Australia’s leading mental health awareness bodies.

  • Kevin RUDD

    Kevin RUDD

    Kevin Rudd has served as former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Australia.

  • Larissa WATERS

    Larissa WATERS

    Larissa Waters is the first Greens Senator for Queensland and is the Greens Leader in the Senate and co-deputy Leader of the Australian Greens.

  • Marianne HANSON

    Marianne HANSON

    Marianne Hanson is the Associate Professor of International Relations at the University of Queensland, Australia. She teaches and researches in the field of international security focusing on arms control, disarmament, international organizations, and international law.

  • Melissa PARKE

    Melissa PARKE

    The Hon Melissa Parke from Perth, Western Australia, is a former Minister for International Development and former federal member for Fremantle (2007-2016).

  • Michael KIRBY

    Michael KIRBY

    He is an Adjunct Professor at the College of Law & Justice at Victoria University and the Former Chair of the UNHRC Commission of Inquiry of DPRK

  • Natasha Stott DESPOJA

    Natasha Stott DESPOJA

    Natasha Stott Despoja AO is the founding Chair of Our Watch (the Foundation to Prevent Violence Against Women and their Children). She is a former Senator for South Australia (1995-2008) and former Leader of the Australian Democrats. She is the youngest woman to enter the Australian Federal Parliament.

  • Peter HAYES

    Peter HAYES

    Peter Hayes works at the nexus of security, environment, and energy policy problem. He is best known for innovative cooperative engagement strategies in North Korea.

  • Phillip CLARK

    Phillip CLARK

    Philip Clark is a well-known broadcaster in Australian radio and television. He presents the breakfast show on ABC 666 Canberra.

  • Ramesh THAKUR

    Ramesh THAKUR

    Ramesh Thakur is an Emeritus Professor in the Crawford School of Public Policy, a Senior Research Fellow at the Australian National University and the Toda Peace Institute, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of International Affairs. He is also Director of the Centre for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament at the ANU and former Senior Vice-Rector of the United Nations University (and Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations).

  • Robert HILL

    Robert HILL

    Robert Murray Hill is a retired Australian politician. He currently teaches at the United States Centre at the University of Sydney.



    Simon Chesterman is a recognized authority on international law, whose work has opened up new areas of research on conceptions of public authority.



    Tanya Plibersek is the Minister for the Environment and Water of Australia.

  • Trevor FINDLAY

    Trevor FINDLAY

    Trevor Findlay has held positions in government, academia, international organizations, and non-governmental organizations. His research focus is nuclear governance, especially nuclear security, safeguards, and the role of the International Atomic Energy Agency.