The Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (APLN) has over one hundred members from eighteen countries across Asia and the Pacific, consisting of former political, diplomatic and military leaders, senior government officials, and scholars and opinion leaders. APLN aims to inform and energize public opinion, especially high-level policymakers, to take seriously the very real threats posed by nuclear weapons, and to do everything possible to achieve a world in which they are contained, diminished and eventually eliminated.


Marty NATALEGAWA (Chair)

Dr. Marty Natalegawa has served as Foreign Minister of Indonesia (2009 – 2014). He is a member of the UN Secretary-General’s High Level Advisory Board on Mediation; the UNSG’s Advisory Board on Disarmament and the Board of Trustees of the United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research.

  • Angela WOODWARD

    Angela WOODWARD

    Angela Woodward is Deputy Executive Director of the Verification Research, Training and Information Centre.

  • Chung-in MOON

    Chung-in MOON

    Professor Moon Chung-in is the co-convener and Vice Chair of the APLN. He is the former Chairman of the Sejong Institute and the former Special Adviser of National Security and Foreign Affairs to the ROK President. He is currently James Laney Distinguished Professor of Yonsei University and the Editor-in-Chief of Global Asia.

  • Gareth EVANS

    Gareth EVANS

    Gareth Evans is a Distinguished Honorary Professor and former Chancellor of the Australian National University, Co-Chair of the International Advisory Board of the Global Centre for the Responsibility to Protect, former Australian Foreign Minister, and former President and CEO of the International Crisis Group. He was founding Convenor of the APLN in 2011, and Chair 2019-21.



    Mely Caballero-Anthony is Professor of International Relations, President's Chair in International Relations and Security Studies, Associate Dean and Head of the Centre for Non-Traditional Security (NTS) Studies at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

  • SHEN Dingli

    SHEN Dingli

    Shen Dingli is a professor and former executive dean at Fudan University’s Institute of International Studies, and former Director of Center for American Studies. He is also an Honorary Visiting Professor of Washington University in St. Louis.

  • Sujata MEHTA

    Sujata MEHTA

    Sujata Mehta has served as Ambassador and Permanent Representative of India to the Conference on Disarmament.

  • SUZUKI Tatsujiro

    SUZUKI Tatsujiro

    Suzuki Tatsujiro is the former Vice Chairman of the Japan Atomic Energy Commission and is currently a member of the Executive Committee and Council of Pugwash Conferences on Science and International Affairs.