The Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (APLN) has ninety-three members from sixteen countries across Asia and the Pacific, consisting of former political, diplomatic and military leaders, senior government officials, and scholars and opinion leaders. The APLN aims to inform and energize public opinion, especially high-level policymakers, to take seriously the very real threats posed by nuclear weapons, and to do everything possible to achieve a world in which they are contained, diminished and eventually eliminated.

Yong-soo HWANG

Yong-soo HWANG

Principal Researcher for the Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)

Dr Yongsoo Hwang was Director General of Korea Institute of Nuclear Non-proliferation and Control. He has worked in the field of spent fuel management for more than 25 years.

Dr Yongsoo Hwang is a Principal Researcher in Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI) in the Republic of Korea. 

Before re-joining KAERI Dr Hwang worked in KINAC (Korea Institute of Nuclear Non-proliferation and Control) as the Director General of KINAC at Strategic Policy and Research Centre. He has been in KAERI for more than 25 years in the field of the spent fuel management such as the total safety assessment of a deep geologic disposal of spent nuclear fuels and the nuclear non-proliferation. He served as a Member for Advisory Committee for the Korean Nuclear Safety and Security Commission(NSSC) and the 1st Public and Stakeholder Engagement Task Force Team to solve the spent nuclear fuel management issues in the ROK.

Dr Hwang also served as an Advisory Member for the IAEA Director General for Multi-lateral Nuclear Agreement (MNA) to solve the Iranian Issues between 2004 and 2005. He worked as a Visiting Fellow at CSIS at DC between 2010 and 2012. 

Dr Hwang received his MS and Ph D from University of California Berkeley, at Department of Nuclear Engineering and the  BS from Seoul National University.