Winners of the APLN-KT Essay Contest 2021

Winners of the APLN-KT Essay Contest 2021

Winners of the Korea Times-APLN Essay Contest

We are pleased to announce the winners of the Korea Times-APLN Essay Contest 2021 for graduate and undergraduate students writing on the theme of “Youth, Disarmament, and Peace in the Asia-Pacific Region.” This contest, supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, was held in cooperation between the Korea Times and the Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Award:

Philip Chennery, graduate student at the SOAS University of London

The Korea Times Award:

Lee Sang-ou, undergraduate student at the Korea National Open University

The Asia-Pacific Leadership Network Award:

Miriam Astrid Machado Rieback, graduate student at the Korea University

Honorable mentions:

Lee Yoon-ki from Hanyang University

Jamie Withorne from University of Oslo

Dustin Edward Hinkley from American University

Mr. Chennery will receive 2 million won and an award plaque, and Mr. Lee and Ms. Rieback will each receive 1 million won and a plaque. Three other honorable mentions winners will each receive 500,000 won and a plaque.

The winners will receive their awards at an award ceremony to be held at The Korea Times office in Seoul, November 26, 11:00 am KST.

The winners also have their essays published in The Korea Times and on the APLN website on the day of the ceremony.